An Introduction to Class Unity


Mondays, June 28th – August 23rd at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET


If these dates and times don’t work for you, keep you eyes on this page. We’ll hold this course in the future at different points in the week.

Register on zoom: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZEudu6trDwvHNH4gIhV2VmtdW0LjjBaVUDJ


Are you a new member of Class Unity? Are you considering joining? Do you just want to learn more about us? If any of these apply to you, you should come to our Introduction to Class Unity Reading Group.

Over nine light weight sessions we’ll go over the basics of Marx’s critique of political economy by reading Wage Labor & Capital, the politics of historical Marxism by reading Karl Kautsky’s The Class Struggle, and an introduction to the history of intersectionality and the limits of identity politics by reading Mike Macnair and Walter Benn Michaels.

The good thing about this reading list is that people can drop in at any point in the sequence. If you’ve just joined and the next scheduled session is not the week 1 session, you should still come to whichever one is next. If you’re a new member, you should attend all of the sessions, no matter which one you start with.

We have also produced study guides for each week. Please read over these and think about the questions contained within them as you are going through the materials for each week.

If you are interested in even more material that isn’t associate with a reading group, please check out the New Member Reading List.


Week 1: Wage Labor & Capital

Monday, June 28th at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

Labour therefore, is the real measure of the exchangeable value of all commodities.

Adam Smith, An Inquiry into the Nature and Causes of the Wealth of Nations, 1776

And this is the economic constitution of our entire modern society: the working class alone produces all values. For value is only another expression for labour.

Frederick Engels, 1891

The study guide for this week can be found here.

Week 2: Wage Labor & Capital

Monday, July 5th at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

The study guide for this week can be found here.

Week 3: The Class Struggle

Monday, July 12th at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

“How well Karl Kautsky wrote [when he was still a Marxist and not a renegade].”

— VI Lenin, “Left-Wing” Communism: an Infantile Disorder (1920)

The study guide for this week can be found here.

Week 4: The Class Struggle

Monday, July 19th at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

The study guide for this week can be found here.

Week 5: The Class Struggle

Monday, July 26th at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

The study guide for this week can be found here.

Week 6: The Class Struggle

Monday, August 2nd at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

The study guide for this week can be found here.

Week 7: The Class Struggle

Monday, August 9th at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

The study guide for this week can be found here.

Week 8: Intersectionalism, the highest stage of western Stalinism?

Monday, August 16th at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

What are the historical roots of what we inherit as intersectionality and modern identity politics? What are their political limits?

Week 9: The Political Economy of Anti-Racism

Monday, August 23rd at 7:00 PM PT / 8:00 PM MT / 9:00 PM CT / 10:00 PM ET

The study guide for this week can be found here.